Our network

Las Vegas Magnet School Receives Top Honor | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Las Vegas Magnet School Receives Top Honor

NORTH LAS VEGAS -- A local magnet school has been designated the top magnet school in the country.

C.V.T. Gilbert Magnet Elementary school has won the Dr. Ronald P. Simpson Distinguished Merit Award from Magnet Schools of America organization. The award is considered a top honor for any magnet school.

The school was chosen because of its diverse programs that integrate art and communication. Several other Las Vegas schools won merit awards. Awards for the Schools of Excellence category include Jim Bridger Middle School, K.O. Knudson Elementary School and Sandy Searles Miller Elementary School (also a 2009 Schools of Distinction recipient).

Awards for the Schools of Distinction category include Advanced Technologies Academy, Mabel Hoggard Elementary School (2009 recipient), Jo Mackey Elementary School (2009 recipient), Northwest Career and Technical Academy, Rancho High School, Valley High School and Walter Bracken Elementary School.