Our network

Public Comment Invited on Commission Boundaries | Events

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Public Comment Invited on Commission Boundaries
Events, Politics
Public Comment Invited on Commission Boundaries



New district boundaries will be the topic of discussion at upcoming county workshops.

Clark County is hosting meeting during the next two weeks to solicit comments and suggestions for changes to commission district electoral boundaries.

The workshops will be held throughout the Las Vegas Valley:

  • June 13 (Monday), 6 to 8 p.m. at the Dr. William U. Pearson Community Center, 1625 West Carey Ave.
  • June 15 (Wednesday), 6 to 8 p.m. at the Desert Breeze Community Center, 8275 Spring Mountain Rd.
  • June 22 (Wednesday), 6 to 8 p.m. at the East Las Vegas Community/Senior Center, 250 N. Eastern Ave.

County staff and redistricting consultant David Heller will attend the meetings to receive public input, which will be considered while new commission district maps are drafted. Additional public meetings will be held, probably in July, to present and receive comments on the proposed maps. Also, residents may email their comments to redistricting@ClarkCountyNV.gov or submit them by mail to the County Manager’s Office, Attn: Jennifer Lances, 500 S. Grand Central Parkway, Las Vegas, NV 89155.

The County Commission will vote on new boundaries later in the summer.

The redistricting process is undertaken every 10 years following the national Census in order to comply with state law, which requires commission districts to be nearly equal in population. Rapid growth in population over the last decade has resulted in great variations in population across the County’s seven commission districts.

For instance, Vice Chair Steve Sisolak’s District A in the Southeast, the County’s largest, has 361,871 residents, while Commissioner Lawrence Weekly’s District D in the middle part of the county, the smallest district, has 45-percent fewer residents with 200,586.

Redistricting will resolve these imbalances and each of the county’s seven commission districts will have about 285,000 residents.

Events, Politics